Use pragmas to work around MSVC x86_32 debug miscompile bug
authorReid Kleckner <rnk@google.com>
Thu, 10 Sep 2020 18:23:42 +0000 (11:23 -0700)
committerReid Kleckner <rnk@google.com>
Thu, 10 Sep 2020 21:50:01 +0000 (14:50 -0700)
commit4e3edef4b8b637c0c76897497eb7c66f00157210
treee756530157b1709dacc5dd480c4e31a641c960ac
parentb34f116856306d97aa9244a46eb1643a8ddd49a8
Use pragmas to work around MSVC x86_32 debug miscompile bug

Halide users reported this here: https://llvm.org/pr46176
I reported the issue to MSVC here:
https://developercommunity.visualstudio.com/content/problem/1179643/msvc-copies-overaligned-non-trivially-copyable-par.html

This codepath is apparently not covered by LLVM's unit tests, so I added
coverage in a unit test.

If we want to support this configuration going forward, it means that is
in general not safe to pass a SmallVector<T, N> by value if alignof(T)
is greater than 4. This doesn't appear to come up often because passing
a SmallVector by value is inefficient and not idiomatic: it copies the
inline storage. In this case, the SmallVector<LLT,4> is captured by
value by a lambda, and the lambda is passed by value into std::function,
and that's how we hit the bug.

Differential Revision: https://reviews.llvm.org/D87475
llvm/lib/CodeGen/GlobalISel/LegalityPredicates.cpp
llvm/unittests/CodeGen/GlobalISel/LegalizerInfoTest.cpp