[MSVC] Don't add -nostdinc++ -isystem to runtimes builds
authorReid Kleckner <rnk@google.com>
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 20:35:42 +0000 (12:35 -0800)
committerReid Kleckner <rnk@google.com>
Fri, 15 Jan 2021 21:22:07 +0000 (13:22 -0800)
If the host compiler is MSVC or clang-cl, then the compiler used to
buidl the runtimes will be clang-cl, and it doesn't support either of
those flags.

Worse, because -isystem is a space separated flag, it causes all cmake
try_compile tests to fail, so none of the -Wno-* flags make it to the
compiler in libcxx. I noticed that we weren't passing
-Wno-user-defined-literals to clang-cl and were getting warnings in the
build, and this fixes that for me.

Differential Revision: https://reviews.llvm.org/D94817

runtimes/CMakeLists.txt

index 4bb822e..a1017d9 100644 (file)
@@ -77,12 +77,15 @@ endif()
 include(CheckLibraryExists)
 include(CheckCCompilerFlag)
 
-# We don't have libc++ (yet)...
-set(CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS "${CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS} -nostdinc++ -nostdlib++")
-
-# ...but we need access to libc++ headers for CMake checks to succeed.
-if (LLVM_EXTERNAL_LIBCXX_SOURCE_DIR AND "libcxx" IN_LIST LLVM_ENABLE_RUNTIMES)
-  set(CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS "${CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS} -isystem ${LLVM_EXTERNAL_LIBCXX_SOURCE_DIR}/include")
+# Disable use of the installed C++ standard library when building runtimes. If
+# MSVC is true, we must be using the clang-cl driver, which doesn't understand
+# these flags.
+if (NOT MSVC)
+  set(CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS "${CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS} -nostdinc++ -nostdlib++")
+
+  if (LLVM_EXTERNAL_LIBCXX_SOURCE_DIR AND "libcxx" IN_LIST LLVM_ENABLE_RUNTIMES)
+    set(CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS "${CMAKE_REQUIRED_FLAGS} -isystem ${LLVM_EXTERNAL_LIBCXX_SOURCE_DIR}/include")
+  endif()
 endif()
 
 # Avoid checking whether the compiler is working.