[libc] Add documentation for integration tests.
authorPaula Toth <paulatoth@google.com>
Mon, 6 Jul 2020 19:43:29 +0000 (12:43 -0700)
committerPaula Toth <paulatoth@google.com>
Mon, 6 Jul 2020 19:44:32 +0000 (12:44 -0700)
Reviewers: sivachandra

Reviewed By: sivachandra

Subscribers: MaskRay, tschuett, ecnelises, libc-commits

Tags: #libc-project

Differential Revision: https://reviews.llvm.org/D82907

libc/docs/integration_test.rst [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/libc/docs/integration_test.rst b/libc/docs/integration_test.rst
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..dd3962b
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,19 @@
+Integration Tests
+=====================
+The implementation of libc-project is unique because our public C header files
+are generated using information from TableGen. Unit tests only exercise the
+internal C++ implementations and don't ensure the headers were generated by the
+build system. End to end testing ensures that, after building, the produced
+library and headers are usable in the C runtime. A simple solution is to have
+contributors write an integration test for each individual function as a C
+program; however, this would place a large burden on contributors and duplicates
+some effort from the unit tests.
+
+Instead we automate the generation of integration tests by modeling it from our
+generated headers. These integration tests ensure that public facing symbols are
+visible, that header files are generated as expected, and that each libc
+function has the correct function prototype.
+
+The integration test cmake rules are located in ``test/src/CMakeLists.txt`` and
+the generated integration test lives in
+``llvm/build/projects/libc/test/src/public_integration_test.cpp``